Würzbrunnen Church, Röthenbach

Würzbrunnen church is first recorded in 1148, in a letter from Pope Eugene III. It is probably around 1`000 years old.




Contact information

Madlen Langenegger
Heimenrütti
3538 Röthenbach

Tel: +41 34 491 18 74

www.kirche-roethenbach.ch


It belonged to the Cluniac monastery of Rüeggisberg and was under the control of two monks who resided in the monastery of Röthenbach where today the Bären guesthouse stands. One was a prior, the other a priest.

Their rights were far-reaching. For example, when a farmer died, his best cow became the property of the prior. If his daughter married, then the farmer had to pay the prior as much as he gave the bride in dowry. If anyone wished to leave the area, then they had to first relinquish two-thirds of their property to the monastery.

In 1494, the church was ravaged by fire. It was rebuilt again in the same year. A charred piece of wood kept in a niche on the north-facing exterior wall is a reminder of this blaze. After the Reformation the depictions of the saints were painted over (see left wall, right at the front, where the underlying layer was revealed during restoration work).
The organ was built in 1785 and is still used to this day. The interior of the church was restored in 1962/63.

Prayers have been said in the Würzbrunnen church for over a thousand years. A wooden church stood on this spot before the Würzbrunnen church was built. According to legend, it was Leuthold von Rümlingen (1115-1148) who built the church. All that is certain, however, is that in 1148 Pope Eugene III confirmed that the church in Würzbrunnen and the monastery of Röthenbach were property of the Cluniac monastery of Rüeggisberg.

The church became famous after appearing in film versions of Gotthelf's works including "Ueli der Knecht". Consequently, the church is also referred to as the "Gotthelf church".

Many weddings are held in the richly decorated church from April to October each year.


Delete from wish list
Add to wish list
Print offer

Contact information

Madlen Langenegger
Heimenrütti
3538 Röthenbach

Tel: +41 34 491 18 74

www.kirche-roethenbach.ch




Enlarge map

Église Würzbrunnen, Röthenbach

L'église Würzbrunnen est évoquée pour la première fois en l'an 1148 dans une lettre du pape Eugène III. L'église a probablement environ mille ans.




Contact

Madlen Langenegger
Heimenrütti
3538 Röthenbach

Tel: +41 34 491 18 74

www.kirche-roethenbach.ch


Elle appartenait au monastère des moines clunisiens de Rüeggisberg et était administrée par deux moines qui habitaient dans le petit monastère de Röthenbach, où se trouve aujourd'hui l'auberge Bären. L'un était prieur, l'autre prêtre.

Leurs droits étaient sans appel. Lorsque, par exemple, un paysan mourait, sa meilleure bête revenait au prieur. Celui qui épousait sa fille, devait également laisser au prieur l'équivalent de sa dot. Si quelqu'un souhaitait quitter la région, il devait d'abord céder deux tiers de ses biens au monastère.

En 1494, l'église fut ravagée par les flammes. Elle fut reconstruite la même année. Un morceau de bois calciné dans une niche du mur extérieur nord rappelle l'incendie. À la Réforme, les images saintes furent recouvertes (voir le mur de façade gauche où des travaux de restauration ont mis au jour la couche originale).

L'orgue a été érigé en 1785 et fonctionne encore aujourd'hui. L'intérieur de l'église fut restauré en 1962/63.
L'église de Würzbrunnen est un lieu de prière depuis plus de 1`000 ans. Une église en bois existait déjà à l'endroit où fut érigée l'église de Würzbrunnen. La légende prétend que c'est Leuthold von Rümlingen (1115-1148) qui construisit l'église. La seule chose certaine est que le pape Eugène III confirma en l'an 1148 au monastère clunisien de Rüeggisberg la propriété de la petite église de Würzbrunnen et du petit monastère de Röthenbach.

Les films tirés des romans de Gotthelf ont rendu cette église célèbre (p. ex. Ueli le fermier). Ce qui lui vaut le nom d'église de Gotthelf.

Tous les ans d'avril à octobre, l'église richement décorée accueille de nombreuses cérémonies de mariage.


Supprimer de la liste de sélection
Placer dans la liste de sélection
Imprimer l'offre

Contact

Madlen Langenegger
Heimenrütti
3538 Röthenbach

Tel: +41 34 491 18 74

www.kirche-roethenbach.ch




Agrandir la carte